Aahaar is an initiative for subsidised meal to the poor and needy in the urban areas. The program was launched on 1st April 2015 on the auspicious day of Utkal Divas by Shri Naveen Patnaik, Hon’ble Chief Minister of Odisha. The program was piloted in five Municipal Corporations – Bhubaneswar, Cuttack, Berhampur, Sambalpur and Rourkela- of Odisha with 21 Aahaar centres. The objective of the program is to provide cooked hot meals -steamed rice and dalmato the poor and needy people at Rs 5 /-. After the successful implementation of piloted program, after completing first anniversary, the program was expanded to cover all 30 districts in 73 towns. Hon’ble Chief Minister dedicated 100 Aahaar centres on 14th April 2016 to the people of Odisha. Currently 110 centres are operational in Odisha. Housing and Urban Development Department is the nodal department to implement Aahaar program in the State.

Aahaar Centres in Nawrangpur Municipality is located adjacent to District Headquarter Hospital

Program Features

Beneficiaries get a meal at Aahaar centres at Rs 5 /- . The Centres function from 11 am to 3 pm each day, except on Sunday. Though the actual cost of the food is Rs. 20/-, the remaining cost of a meal i.e. Rs. 15 /- is being met through support from corporates, local donation, charity, Chief Ministers Relief Fund, etc. Providing good quality food, maintaining hygiene, cleanliness and providing best inclusive infrastructure to cater to the need of aged, differently abled, women, children, sick etc. are the major features of the program.


Skip to content